A Mixed Blessing

Another aspect of caregiving that you might not think about is the staying at home and not being exposed to a lot of germs. This is a mixed blessing. In the past, I was always active in the work force, did volunteer work, went to the movies, shopping, etc. I was around a lot of people and I seemed to have a great resistance to whatever was “going around”. Now that I’m a full-time caregiver, I spend most of my time at home. I will get out maybe once a week for a few hours to grocery shop, etc.  

We recently went to my grandson’s college graduation and were in a crowd of a couple thousand people. We were exposed to germs and viruses that were not common to us. I came down with the cold first, then my hubby followed. It turned into bronchitis pretty quickly and now we’re back at home with antibiotics and I have an inhaler. 

 I’ve always been healthy and tough……I don’t like being this vulnerable. I know I have to stay strong to care for him. It’s not easy, because he can’t remember that either of us are sick. No naps or feet up for me!! I explain it over and over and he denies he is ill, even though his voice is rough and raspy from the sinus drainage.

Leave a comment